Protein Lunch Options

We have sort of changed up our eating plan here at our home recently, after my husband announced to me that he was joining the gym I belong to. He is one of those lucky people that can literally eat anything he wants and does not gain a pound. When he told me he was just feeling sluggish and unmotivated, I agreed that the gym would do him good but it also got me to thinking about his diet a little more.

For lunch everyday he typically takes leftovers from the night before. So in other words, if we had casserole for dinner, that is also his lunch the next day. His break consisted of the usual bag lunch snacks such as baked chips, cookies, trail mix, fruit etc. Now, I have put a little more planning into what his lunches are. He still gets the lunch meal of leftovers, but his break snack is protein packed for extra energy and to support the additional exercise he is doing at the gym.

Examples of his protein snacks are:

Hard boiled eggs, homemade granola balls (recipe to come later this week), carrots with dip (not shown)

IMG_3812

Wasabi almonds, cheese, olives

IMG_3800

Apples and peanut butter, dried mangoes, walnuts.

IMG_3814

For me on the other hand, with adding a much more rigorous workout routine to my schedule, I have been also trying to get in more protein. Although this is proving to be much harder for me because I cannot have nuts, I don’t like red meat and I am not a big cheese lover.

So I have been having salmon and Laughing Cow Cheese with avocado.

IMG_3792

And I have come to love lentil bowls. This one here has lentils, sauteed mushrooms and spinach then topped with two over easy eggs with 1/2 an avocado.

IMG_3806

IMG_3808

Another favorite lentil bowl is sauteed spinach and mushrooms over lentils with cooked chicken breast pieces and a bit of shredded parmesan cheese. Topped with balsamic glaze. Oh yum:)These bowls provide a lot of protein and are filling enough for a meal.

Both of us have had more energy and have come to really love our new routine of going to the gym three nights a week. So whether you are home all day like me and can cook quite easily when you are hungry or you take your lunch to work everyday, it is quite simple to pack healthy protein packed lunches to support your active lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

