Travel and Exercise/ Get Up and Move Update

Whether you travel for business or pleasure, getting in your daily workout is possible regardless of where you will be or what you will be staying in.

Granted, hotels are probably the easiest place to get in a workout since many of them offer a workout room/area, but what do you do if you are not in a hotel with this option? Here are some helpful ideas that you could consider.

Depending on where you are located when you travel many cities have gyms that will offer a daily drop in fee for travelers. It does not hurt to ask.

IMG_3391

You could also consider rentals, such as in Door County,WI there are numerous places to rent bikes and kayaks for a reasonable price.

When my husband travels for business, he will often save room for his yoga mat and throw in a dvd to practice yoga in his room before breakfast. It does not take up a lot of room and really could even be done without a mat if you wish. I found yoga very helpful when we traveled to Utah and did this every morning before meeting for the day to start hiking with our group.

IMG_3267

You could get in your strength training also without even leaving your room. Purchasing a set of resistance bands is perfect to throw into your luggage. Compact, light weight and easy to use.

If you have access to a car while traveling, finding a local high school may offer a track to run on. You could also find a nature trail to run on if you prefer running with a view. And if nothing else is possible, just take a walk near your hotel. You can walk just about anywhere.

IMG_1885

When we travel, I am someone that really needs to be able to get some kind of true exercise in no matter what. It truly just makes me a happier person. So, I will normally research the area we will be visiting and see what there is to offer.  I can normally have my workout done before my boys are even up and ready to go, so it never interferes with our plans of the day.

Don’t let travel be an excuse not to get in a good workout.

And now for my first update of the GET UP AND MOVE CHALLENGE:

(for this first update I am going to start on Monday Dec. 30 simply because it will be easier to post weekly updates for me every Monday)

Monday 12/30: 45 minutes cardio, 30 minutes strength training, 15 minutes abs

Tuesday 12/31: 15 minutes abs and strength training, 1 mile walk

Wednesday 1/1: 30 minutes arc trainer, 15 minute treadmill, 30 minute strength training(all at the gym)

Thursday 1/2: 25 minutes recumbent bike, 10 minutes strength training, 3 mile walk

Friday 1/3: off

Saturday1/4: 30 minutes cardio and 30 minutes upper body strength training (all at the gym)

Sunday 1/5: 20 minutes cardio on the arc trainer and 15 minute walk on the treadmill (all at the gym)

I was pretty proud of myself Sunday. I laid on the heating pad for most of the morning and finally forced myself to just get up and go to the gym. I have been nursing a sore back for three days, and Sunday  was the worse day. I did not feel worse after exercise but no better either. Although,I was happy I made myself go to the gym. No one said everyday was going to be great, but I did it and I was happy I did.

How did you all do on your GET UP AND MOVE goal?

Leave a Reply

