It’s More Than a Resolution…It’s a Gift To Ourselves

Are you a person that start’s a resolution every year just to fail after a few days, weeks or months?

Personally, I think some of us make that resolution just too big to accomplish which means failure is ultimately inevitable. So let’s change that together.

First of all, let’s call it a “gift” to ourselves for the new year. It will not be a resolution, it will only be as difficult as you want it to be and realistically we all should find it fairly easy to fit into our daily life.

It will take you thirty minutes per day, six days per week, with one day being a free day where you can either do nothing at all or still try and get in 30 minutes if you wish.

Now don’t panic and say you don’t have time. I know you do. Let’s set a timer one day and start and stop it every time you go onto a social media website. Add those minutes up at the end of one day. OK, now let’s take just 30 minutes of that (I know you accumulated more than 30minutes on your timer for one day) and dedicate it to this “gift” you are going to give yourself every day.

The “gift” we will be giving ourselves on these days for at least the next year, hopefully longer, will simply be to GET UP AND MOVE!

Now I know what you are thinking, especially if you read my blog, that this will not be difficult for me at all. Which may make it seem a little unfair. Just remember, you are not doing this for me, this is a “gift” for you. I do move everyday, whether it be walking, working out, playing tennis, kayaking, biking etc. What really has me concerned is the number of people that don’t move, complain they are tired all the time, there body aches everywhere, they are irregular, they cannot sleep……….

Believe me, if you MOVE you will feel better. I am not talking a normal workday of 8,9,10 or whatever hours you work on a daily basis. I am not talking about chasing after your kids all day or walking the trash to the curb once a week. I want you to add a SPECIFIC, different activity than normal to your daily routine for 30 minutes six days a week.

Want some stimulation, here are some suggestions:

*do it with a friend

*get a dog or borrow a neighbors

*join a gym, many people will feel obligated to go if they pay money to do something

* it’s great stress relief

*do you realize nursing home residents do daily exercise and a lot of us do none. Now that’s just sad:(

*do it for your health

I can offer you some ideas of things that you could do to make this a successful gift.

Inside:

water aerobics at an area high school or community center/lap swim

join a gym

yoga either by joining a class or buying a dvd

zumba

dancing lessons/classes

bowling

weight lifting

climb steps in your home for 30 minutes

stability ball exercises

dance around with your kids and just get crazy (they won’t know what has gotten into you but I promise they will love it)

Outside:

Ice skate

ski

sledding (only use the rope to go back up the hill every other time)

walk your/a dog

yoga in the park

hike a near by trail

snowshoe

run/jog

kayak

swim

bike

join a sporting team like softball, baseball, basketball etc.

tennis

I am sure there are many, many more things I could have listed, but you get the point. I don’t care how old or young you are, you can do this. Include your spouse, children, the elderly lady/man down the street. Stop in at a nursing home and take a resident for a walk around the grounds for half an hour in their wheel chair. (Get permissions first)There are so many things you could do.

So, are you in for the challenge? I promise you will feel better. Let’s even be optimistic and say that maybe next year we can up the time to moving for 1 hour a day. Although, let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

For the next month, I will post weekly what I did to move for thirty minutes six days per week. If you send me a message either by reply or by email and let me know you are going to try it out, I will follow your progress and cheer you on.

LET’S ALL JUST GET UP AND MOVE!!!!

GOOD LUCK

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

