Looking Back ….

Did you all have a great holiday? We did. Looking back, I can’t believe everything we did in just a few days.

It all started with my first night geocache, where you use a flashlight and follow reflectors strategically place in the woods to find the actual cache. VERY fun, EXTREMELY cold (8 degrees) but I have high hopes to do this again when it’s a little warmer. (I have no pics because I was shivering too hard to even try and hold the camera steady, sorry)

Let’s see, we also moved our son back home because he has decided to transfer schools back to our hometown.We hosted Christmas Eve with my brother and his family, then went to my in laws and celebrated with my husband’s family. Christmas morning we had a wonderful breakfast.

IMG_3718

Then proceeded to open gifts in our jammies. I love celebrating with just the three of us, in jammies, with no where to go, no time restraints or worries. After gift opening we decided to do what we do best, head outdoors for some fun. We went snowshoeing for a couple hours.

IMG_3737

We saw some beautiful winter scenes.

IMG_3739

Arriving back at the truck with some hot chocolate waiting for us.

IMG_3750

After this it was back home for some relaxing family time. Our son even took a nap for two hours!

Thursday brought a day to celebrate our son’s birthday. He chose a great pizza place to visit for dinner.

IMG_2502

Then he ventured out later that night with a friend from high school to do something I think is just crazy. They went kayak sledding. Yes, that’s right, sledding down a snowy hill with their whitewater kayaks!!!! Dad would have normally joined in on the fun, but they left too late and he had to work in the morning so his fun will have to wait until next time. Myself on the other hand, will not do this. I like my water unfrozen, warm and the sun to be shining brightly in the sky.

The weekend brought ice fishing for my hubby that went very well. He caught his limit of fish which we enjoyed for lunch the next day.

IMG_3759

I was able to get in two wonderful workouts, which always makes me happy.  I also was able to get all the holiday decor put away.

Finally, as of today our normal routine is back and life will once again have some order to it.

I am working on a challenge for the New Year that I will post Wednesday. Not so much a New Year’s resolution but a “gift” I think we can all give ourselves for the New Year. So make sure you take a quick peak on Wednesday and see if your interested in challenging yourself.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

