A Weekend of Chills

When I woke up on Saturday morning the temperature outside was -4 below zero. There was no way I was going to get up, get dressed and go workout today. The only thing that would have been worse for me would have been to wake up to snow falling.

I then announce to my dear husband it would be a great day to clean the basement. With a lot less complaining than I expected, he agreed there really would not be much else we could do today, at least outside that is.

We cleaned, organized and sorted tons of stuff.We ended up with half of our truck bed full of things to donate to charity, a clean basement and a plan for when we bring our son home from college. He has wanted a man cave of his own for sometime but with my workout equipment which takes up a great deal of our basement, that has not always been an easy thing to create. Well, we did some thinking and decided that since he will be transferring to a campus close to home and now living back at home, this is something that he really does need. We were lucky enough to receive a very nice desk for no cost and needed to create a place to put it. Mission accomplished, I think. Now we just wait until he is home and him and dad will start doing their thing and create his man cave.

After cleaning the basement, we went out to drop off the boxes of charity items we had accumulated, stopped for some chinese and called it a day.

Which brings us to Sunday. Another not so lovely day in Wisconsin. Below zero temps and this time snow was falling when I got up. Again, my workout was happening at home.(I am not a very cheerful cold weather person, as you can probably tell.) I planned to try a new salad recipe for dinner, got some paperwork done, we finished our puzzle we started during Thanksgiving and I had the pleasure of listening to my husband yell at the television while the GB Packer game was on. Always a joy that is!!!

Our first significant snowstorm of the year has arrived today bringing 3-5 inches across the area. And temperatures are never suppose to be above 20 the entire week. Which made me think, it would be the perfect week to share a wonderful easy recipe for a nice hot drink. Watch for this on Wednesday.

Until then….

Leave a Reply

