Another Few Miles Geocaching on the Ahnapee State Trail

The last three Sunday’s we have made our way to a different part of the Ahnapee State Trail to geocache. Today we accomplished 3.27 miles with partly sunny skies.

IMG_3457

The terrain on this trail is crushed rock and flat all the way. It always amazes me how peaceful I feel when walking a trail away from the city.

IMG_3450

With all the leaves fallen from most of the trees now, it is quite easy to find things that we would normally not notice.

IMG_3453

Along the way we heard many, many hunters shooting in the distance, saw a gentlemen fishing the river from a kayak (brrrrr, way to cold for me), two hunters with their dog, and one big buck, which obviously I did not have my camera out at the time or I would have had a picture for you all to see.

IMG_3444

It was a productive day with us finding eleven goecaches and getting in a nice walk together.

IMG_3447

After this we came home and ultimately finished our first puzzle.

IMG_3459

This was suppose to last till Spring or at least most of Winter. I guess we both got a little addicted to the hobby and had it together in about 4 days. No worries though, I bought another one yesterday.

Hope you all had a great weekend.

2 thoughts on “Another Few Miles Geocaching on the Ahnapee State Trail

  1. I think I stole somebody’s geocache recently. It was a rainy day so I was hiking in the woods not too far from the city. There’s a point near the waterfall where you can step off the trail and scramble your way to a better and closer view. On the way back, I noticed something in the middle of an old, rotting and hollowed out log. I went to see what it was and found a cooking pot. My assumption was that people had camped here – I could see ash from a fire – and left it behind. So I carried it back to the car, took it home, and threw it away, feeling like I’d done a good deed. But then I realized that it wasn’t strewn about like you’d expect from lazy campers, it was hidden in a way that made it not obvious, but easy to spot if you’re paying attention.

    Do geocachers hate hikers who clean up what they find? Is this a common problem?

    • First of all, you did what we would have done if we found this while out hiking also.
      Geocaches are all labeled as a geocache and should be monitored on a regular basis by the person who placed the cache. We are also hikers and most of the time you will not stumble upon a cache while hiking unless you are looking for this type of thing.
      Thanks you for your questions. Happy Hiking.

Leave a Reply

