Calzones

We have a local grocery store that will occasionally have a sale on their homemade pizza dough. I know, why don’t I just make my own, right? Well, I don’t enjoy baking as much as I enjoy cooking. So this is my way of cheating.

Anyway, so I always take advantage of this sale and instead of making pizza, I make calzones. I am not really going to even call this a recipe, because honestly you could stuff them with just about anything.

On this particular night, it was just veggies and cheese. I cut up some onions, mushrooms, spinach and sauteed them until soft. I also added black olives at the end, and let all this cool while I rolled out the dough.

I rolled out the dough to about the size of a personal pizza, and added some pizza sauce. Topped it with my cooked veggies.

IMG_3387

And finally, I added some mozzarella cheese. Keep in mind, I did not measure any of the toppings because it really depends on how big you roll out your dough. You want a good amount of space between the topping and the edge of your dough as in the picture.

Next, you want to run your finger under water and outline the entire edge of the dough. (This will be like your glue to hold it together.) Then fold over the top part of the dough and align it as close to possible with the side holding your toppings. Roll over the edge and press firmly with a fork to seal the edges all together.

IMG_3388

Lastly,  brush the entire calzone with a little beaten egg white. (This will make your calzone brown nicely) Cover your pan with parchment paper, for easy removable and just in case your sealed edge leaks a little melted cheese.

Bake at 400 for about 20 -30 minutes. Watch carefully, because again it will depend how big or small you made each calzone.

IMG_3390

Let them cool 5-10 minutes before serving, they will be very hot inside.

Another favorite filling of ours is alfredo sauce, cooked chicken, mushrooms, onions, garlic, cooked spinach and cheese.

Give this a try and be creative.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

