Celabrating Two Decades Together

This past week we officially celebrated our 20th Anniversary together. Even though our real gift to each other was our trip to Zion National Park, we still went out for dinner at one of our favorite restaurants and I was surprised by two dozen roses from my husband.

IMG_3385

We decided on a nice quiet place called 1951 West in Green Bay,WI.

IMG_3372

They have some of the best meals we have ever tasted in the Green Bay area. They are featured yearly at the Feast with the Beast event and also have the best brunch in town, in our opinion.

We arrived and decided to splurge and have an appetizer first. We love mushrooms and decided to be different and give the wild mushroom flatbread a try. I was a little scared when I saw bacon jam as one of the ingredients listed on the menu, but sometimes you just have to be brave, right?

IMG_3378

It was served on a cedar plank, and was drizzled with balsamic glaze that can make any dish wonderful. It was very tasty and the goat cheese really made the dish quite the culinary experience. I told my husband that I really want to buy some and experiment with some recipes of my own. We normally don’t eat goat cheese at our home. I do think we would order this again. Although, if I ever made it at home I would just use a few bacon pieces and not the jam, it was a little strong tasting.

Next, came the crock of french onion soup for us both. One of our family favorites. We even serve this to my entire family on Christmas at our home. So yummy:)

IMG_3380

Then the star of the show…..my grilled portabella sandwich. This is my favorite menu item here. I order it every time we come.

IMG_3381

It has a huge grilled mushroom, artichokes, pesto, cheese, pine nuts, roasted pepper, grilled onions all served on a wonderful roll. It’s like a party in your mouth.

Our night ended with a nice walk together, after a great meal. It’s odd to think 20 years ago I married my best friend. It seems so long to say 20 years… yet I remember that day like it was just yesterday.

Many would say communication is the key to a successful marriage, which I agree helps make it more enjoyable. My secret to a successful marriage would be HONESTY. Without honesty, you really have nothing!

*What would be your secret to your successful marriage?

Leave a Reply

