Meatless Tortilla Stack

In my quest to try and have one meatless dish every week, and not have my husband go through severe meat withdrawl, I have become creative.

This I made one day after searching through the pantry for anything that caught my eye. My husband would truly eat tacos every single night. So I thought, maybe I could get this past him and he may not notice there was no meat in it. The best part was that I used mainly all canned ingredients that are commonly found in most pantries.

Here is what I started with:

IMG_3352

Here is what I did:

I prepared one cup of rice according to the directions. To the cooked rice I added one can of fire roasted tomatoes, and half the packet of taco seasoning. I left this simmer for about 10 minutes to combine the flavors.

Next, I took an 8×8 baking dish, sprayed it with non stick cooking spray and layered a thin  layer of the rice mixture on the bottom. I then took 4 small tortillas and layered them on top. Then I put about half the rice mixture over the tortillas, sprinkled half the can of black beans, half the can of corn and half the package of cheddar cheese.

IMG_3354

I then repeated the same layer, but before I put the remaining cheddar cheese on the top, I poured one can of enchilada sauce over the entire dish. Topped with cheese and baked covered at 400 for 20 minutes and then uncovered and baked an additional 10 minutes.

I served it with a side of shredded lettuce and sour cream.

IMG_3357

The results were quite wonderful. Although, the first words out of the hubby’s mouth were,”It could use some ground turkey!!!!” I should have known he would notice there was no meat, but he did say it was tasty and I could prepare this again. That is enough for me to claim success on this meatless meal.

Leave a Reply

