Healthy Lifestyle vs. Dieting/ Dealing with Hypoglycemia

I can’t believe the number of people that have told me they are going to try a new diet. Doesn’t it always seem that someone is on one diet or another? Honestly, I think there are enough different ones out there that a person could be on a new diet monthly. This is just so overwhelming to me!!!

Maybe I was lucky, when I achieved my weight loss years ago, I truthfully did not find it difficult to eat healthy. I simply just changed the way I ate. Not a hard concept. I knew the junk I was eating and simply stopped eating it.

Yes, of course, I craved things that I gave up, like chips, cheese (I do live in Wisconsin), grilled hotdogs, etc. Then I searched around and found replacements for all these items. The things I could not replace, I had a bite of and left the rest for someone else.

I really never understood dieting. Once you “START” a diet, you eventually have to “END” a diet. I wanted my weight loss to be lifelong, so I never wanted that “END” day to come. My solution was to change my lifestyle, not start a diet.

Many will blame their husband, wife or children. So and so always has to have this or that in the house. Kids like there snack foods, husbands like their chips, wives like their chocolate. So be it. Find healthier alternatives. Learn portion sizes, and stick to them. Let’s face it, chocolate is healthy in small portions, baked chips are better than regular chips and kids eat what mom or dad buy for them. In other words, if they can’t see it, they can’t eat it. If they are are hungry and offered healthier options they will eat them.

One of the hardest things I had to learn was that every time we had an outing planned we brought a cooler full of healthy options. It is not easy to feed a family healthy on the road. Another hurdle was eating out. Portion sizes at restaurants are enormous. When we would eat out, I used to cut everything in half and only eat half my meal. The rest was brought home for another meal.

I often ask myself why people do this to themselves. Go on a diet, go off a diet. Loose weight and feel great, just to turn around and gain it back when the diet is done. Just make a lifestyle change instead. It’s your life to change.

This is how I lost weight. No calorie counting, no special diet, no surgery. I have been struggling lately with hypoglycemia. I found myself researching different strategies, diets and foods that help solve some of the issues that come along with this frustrating condition. Then I thought to myself, what am I doing? I am not going to try any diet. No way, I can do this myself. My biggest hurdle is I need to eat every 3-4 hours, regardless if I am hungry or not (according to all the experts and doctors). This is not something that makes me happy! I have trained myself to eat only when hungry and at no other times.

I eat a balance diet and exercise daily. I have come to love exercise and my active lifestyle and will not let this condition change the way I do things. (Remember, I am a redhead and am very stubborn) I have learned that I do need to feed my body when it tells me it needs to eat, although, I don’t always agree with it. So, I try and feed it healthy options and will change some of my eating habits to adjust to this condition but no new “diet plan” is going to happen.

I have come to realize I need to have a small snack everywhere I am, just in case things get delayed and I can not make it home within that 3-4 hours. I have a snack in my purse and in our vehicles. When we leave home for any larger amount of time I now grab what we all know as “mom’s snack bag.” It hangs on the hook right next to the door leading out of our home. Always accessible and easy to grab. (That’s it, on my husband’s back, my emergency bag of snacks.)

IMG_2426

Yes, I have even reached the point where, if I forget it I have turned around and went back home for it. At this stage, I have surrendered to this condition and have come to realize for now I can only hope my brain and my body will eventually learn to get along again, and be happy together. I hope:)

I just wish more people would look in the mirror and realize that if you want to be healthy, it’s really not about what diet you choose. It’s about what you feed that body of yours and how you choose to live your life. You will succeed if you want it bad enough.

Leave a Reply

