The Arrival of Autumn…

Autumn has officially arrived.

I truly have mixed feelings about this. Some things about Autumn I love and some things I just don’t care for.

I love Autumn because the leaves start to fall which means the kiddos and I can rake piles and jump in them, which is always fun.

We typically are done kayaking for many months to come, which is not so great.

IMG_2753

I will need to put away my patio chairs and bid goodbye to my beloved front porch for the next few months, which is quite depressing for me personally. It’s like my personal place to think.

IMG_1637

I love pumpkin and anything made with pumpkin, which are in abundance at this time of year.

It is the absolute best time to hike in our area, bugs are gone and you don’t overheat and dehydrate like in the middle of August.

IMG_2725

Two major holidays are right around the corner, and I love planning what to prepare for these. Although, on the flip side, holiday shopping starts and I really dislike crowds so this is not always fun. (I always plan to shop during the Packer’s games, stores are pretty empty at this time)

This is the time of year where soups come back into rotation for meal time at our house. Personally, I could live on soup year round, but my husband would starve before he would eat soup when it’s 85 outside.

IMG_2755

I bid farewell to cold lattes and switch back to a nice hot cup of coffee. I have to have something to look forward to to get myself up and going in the morning. Otherwise I may just live in my warm bed for the next 6 months until Spring arrives.

IMG_2756

It will be months till we get fresh veggies again, which is devastating to a sprout cruncher like myself:(

IMG_2187

And the final thing about Autumn I just love is that I have a few more weeks to enjoy the last of the green grass and wild flowers. I dread every year what comes next, those frosty flakes that fall from the sky and accumulate for weeks and cover everything green that I can see.

IMG_2439

What about you? Do you have a favorite season?

Leave a Reply

