Our Annual Mother and Son Day

Every summer I take a day off of work to spend with just my son. No one else is invited to join us, it’s just him and I. This summer was just a little extra special because I figured since he was 18 now, he would not want to spend a day with his mom. Then just a few weeks ago he surprised me and said he still wanted to have “our day” so we did just that.

It started out as always, a trip to the dentist bright and early. From there we headed to Door County with the truck loaded with one kayak and the stand up paddle board. Our first stop was Door County Coffee for a treat.

IMG_2529

He ordered the orange creamsicle , and I had an iced latte.

IMG_2530

We arrived in our favorite town, Ephraim, about 9:30am.

IMG_2531

We unloaded and started paddling. It took us about and hour to reach the island we had as our destination.  When we got there we switched and he paddled the board back and I took the kayak. When we returned to the beach we beached the kayak and just had some fun with the board.

After a few hours, it was time for lunch. We loaded up the truck and changed. Then headed to our favorite restaurant. The Chef’s Hat.

IMG_2542

We fell in love with this restaurant a few years ago, and just can’t say enough about the freshness of the ingredients. This is one spectacular place. We both ordered the same sandwich, roast beef gorgonzola melt. This comes on a black bean salsa bread which is so different but adds so much to the sandwich.

IMG_2537

Oh, and we also had to order one of the huge cinnamon rolls they have that we share every year.

IMG_2540

Yes this is terrible for me, and yes I know this. Regardless of what I think, my son says that there is 365 days a year and this is the one day I need to just say “screw it” and eat some fattening, not very good for me, food. I try, really I do, but the guilt drives me crazy. I did eat my half, and then it was time to burn it off.

We headed to Peninsula Park next. They have a tower we like to climb and look out over the water.

IMG_2547

You can see quite a breathtaking view from up here.

IMG_2549

IMG_2550

Next it was time to pick up a few things that I can only get in this area, olive oil, wine, and some blueberry jam.

Of course, now that it is a few hours later, after our terrific lunch, he suggested we go for ice cream. Real ice cream, which I typically don’t eat either!!! I knew I would get the same lecture 365 days a year and……… yeh yeh whatever, let’s just go. So we arrived at Dippy’s Ice Cream Shop.

IMG_2552

Super cute place.

IMG_2553

Oh my,what to have. So many choices. I knew healthy was not an option, so I just did it, said screw it, for my son. I had “cookie dough” and he had “heaps of love” ice cream in a waffle cone.

IMG_2557 At least we walked while we ate so technically we were burning the calories as we were putting them in. (Although we probably should have jogged) We walked all the way to the end of the street to the beach and sat on the stone wall over looking the bay and ate our wonderful cones together.

IMG_2559

That’s when it struck me. I can burn the calories off from today on another day. I may never have this moment again with my son. I just simply enjoyed the moment for what is was.

All in all it was a wonderful day we had together. Hopefully he finds time to be with his mom in the summers to come. Although, if not, I have some great memories of the ones we have had already.

Leave a Reply

