My Belated Birthday

It has been a terrific weekend. Saturday I awoke to my first hibiscus bloom of the season, which always brings a smile to my face. They are just so colorful, and remind me of summer.

Friday night we took a quick trip back to the nursery to pick out our second round of flowering plants for the planter out front, being that the first ones died and I have no idea why????? Then Saturday morning, I quickly planted them.

After a few errands, planting the rest of the garden plants, my son cutting the lawn and my husband trying to catch up on his” HONEY DO” list from being gone the past week, I came inside and secretly called the local kayak/sup store here where we live to see how the water conditions were for trying out my birthday gift, my new stand up paddle board.I was very happy to here the river was calm, and I could come anytime. Well, I was so excited, I went out announced we were going test driving, and we were off.

When we arrived they were actually having a kayak demo day, which I was unaware of, so there were lots of people there. I had done my research and had paddled a board a few times before and knew what I was looking for, but I wanted to try two of them. They were happy to set me up with these two paddle boards on the rivers edge. I took the one I thought I would like first and my husband took the other board out with me.(Our son was in charge of taking pictures) For the first time this year, I was a little shaky at first, but I got it pretty quick. You have to remember, our water here is still very cold, so, falling in was not on the top of my list of things to do. So I was nervous, to say the least. I knew within 10 strokes of the paddle, I loved it. So, we went a little further, and turned back to switch boards.

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

DSC_0021

DSC_0048

DSC_0059

My second board was not so great. I also knew within 10 paddle strokes, this was not my board of choice. I dropped to my knees and paddled back, rather than go swimming in the ice cold water.

DSC_0064

To my surprise, my husband agreed, the BIC Sport ACE-TEC was the one. We have learned from past experience with our kayaks, that we don’t buy anything till we can take it on the water and try it. It may look pretty and feel good on land, but until it’s floating, there is no deal for me. Water changes everything!!!!!!!

The deal was done in my mind. I had my 40th. birthday gift finally picked out, now all I needed was to pay, load it up and the rest was up to my husband. He is in charge of making a rack to store it.

I am so excited to paddle this on local lakes, especially Lake Michigan when its calm, sunny and gorgeous. My husband and son can fish for the” BIG ONE” and I can paddle until they are done.

 

 

QUESTION: Have you ever wanted to try stand up paddle boarding?

Leave a Reply

