Mother’s Day…..

This will be my 18th. Mother’s Day, and I was just thinking back to everything that being a mother means to me.

I have been so very fortunate to succeed in my dreams of being a stay home mom for our son, for his entire childhood. I had always dreamed of being a mother, and really hoped to be able to stay home and see all those first moments. Like that first step, first tooth, first word, and I suppose you have to add that first sleepless night, first bout with stomach flu and so on. I have been self employed in my profession the entire time from home and have been able to be here when school called that our son was ill, that snow day where parents scramble on what do do with their kids so they can get to work, and everything else in between. I pride myself on always having dinner on the table at night, we spent many summers doing all sorts of activities, and I can honestly say, I would not trade it for the world.

Although, there are a few things, as a mom, I could have done without. When our son first started organized sports, we tried pee wee soccer, and baseball. Now, baseball, was not too bad, but soccer, was just torture for me. I am not a big organized sports fan, even when my son was the one with the ball!!! Although, I took my lawn chair, sometimes the umbrella, and the team snack, and two nights a week, we sat and watch with pride.

Thankfully in time, he decided that organized sports were also not for him, and then the fun began. He switched to a Nascar lover. We had every imaginable match box car there was. Literally. We never took him to a Nascar race but Sundays we did go to a local racetrack and watch the rookies race around in circles for hours and sit on very uncomfortable bleachers until way to late at night.

Then when this phase of life was over, he thought, lets try biking and photography. Biking was good, I like to bike on paved paths. We all did this a few times, but then he decided mountain biking would be more fun. Well, needless to say, dad and I still stick to the paved paths. He can do those backwoods trails himself. And photography is still a big passion for him. He has come along way from his point and shoot we first bought him to the camera he purchased himself a few years ago.

Which brings us to today. As a family, we love to kayak. How many parents of teenagers can say they spend almost every weekend together, HAPPILY, doing an activity? Sometimes, we even have had some of his brave teenage friends join in the fun. When we stated this journey, I would have never imagined us upgrading all three of our kayaks from recreational ones, to whitewater in a matter of three years. Although, I cherish these weekends we spend together. Yes, I am sure I still drive my son crazy when he flips his kayak over and I panic, but, I am a mom and its our job to worry about our children. Right???

Through out his high school years, we have always taken a mother/son day. I look forward to this one day a year, because since he started high school and has been able to spread his wings alot more, he has become more and more like his father. I call him my,” BRAIN CHILD.” Dinner times at our house consists of talking about the periodic table, engineering issues for some mechanical something or other he is trying to make at school or anything that can be seen on Nova over and over and over on a weekly basis. And, honestly, none of this interests me at all. So, I feel like slightly an outcast at these moments. Which means when we do go for this mother/son date every summer, we can still have fun together, with no crazy brain conversations, and we play all day very hard. I am so proud to say, I can usually out last my son in any activity we choose. Although, I may have more stamina, it takes me longer to recover than him. Now that he is older, I find myself sometimes talking him into trying something new instead the other way around. This year we are hoping to try an off road segway tour. Now that should be fun!!!!!

I have been there for that first step, the first day of school, the first bike crash, prom, the dreaded driver’s license test, and I can’t think of anywhere else I would have rather been.

I can only imagine what future Mother’s Day’s will be like.

Happy Mother’s Day Everyone

IMG_0305 - Copy

QUESTION: What does Mother’s Day mean for you?

Leave a Reply

